For years has served as the administration building for Long Island University, now SUNY Stony Brook at Southampton. The house also was known as the Tucker Mill Inn. The beautiful house was built in 1896 by the noted architect, Grosvenor Atterbury, for Arthur B. Clafin.
Situated on a beautiful 60 acre estate high on Shinnecock Hills overlooking the bay and Atlantic Ocean, it is one of the most treasured spots on the East Coast of United States.
Following World War II, a couple bought the estate and opened the Tucker Mill Inn. The estate was abandoned for almost 15 years—in fact it was known as the old haunted house—when the Tuckers, he a chemical engineer and she an artist, having owned and operated a cosmetic and plastics Company in New York City; moved from a modern apartment to this "haunted mansion" in fashionable Southampton, In less than five years they turned it into a unique resort hotel, a welcome refuge from the bustle of city life.
Over the years, the Tucker Mill Inn acquired an enviable reputation as a dinner spot, and introduced a new concept of summer living by combining the best features of a resort hotel with the charming atmosphere of a private club. Many guests call the Tucker Mill Inn “the Club Hotel" adding, "there was nothing quite like it - anywhere."