PRESS RELEASE: June 26, 2018
Contact: Connie Conway
Wear your finest hat and step back in time for the grand opening of the historic “Lyzon Hat Shop” in Hampton Bays Saturday June 30th from 11am to 2pm. Ribbon cutting is at 12:30pm.
Located at 116 West Montauk Highway,Hampton Bays, the Lyzon Hat Shop dates back to the 1850’s and once served as a shop for one-of-a-kind hats by Walter King. The wealthy and royalty were his customers.
The building was donated by Anita and Bryan Whalen to the Hampton Bays Historical Society. A few years later the Historical and Preservation Society then turned it over to the Town. It was moved to its current location and the building was renovated to duplicate its original design using Community Preservation Funds. Some of the original hats are on display. The Hampton Bays Historical and Preservation Society now manages the exhibits and runs the museum.
The family fun festivities include hat making lessons, ice cream making, a quilting demonstration and refreshments.
Participants will also be entertained by the Long Island Sound Chorus, Sweet Adelines from 1:00-2:00pm.
For more information call the Hampton Bays Historical Society at 631-728-0887.